Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics


Search This Site


The Evaluation Task Force provides a forum for COMSEP members to address important issues in evaluation of student performance. Attendees have the opportunity to learn about evaluation tools and practices, share mutual challenges in evaluating students and explore potential solutions, and develop collaborative projects. Discussions of evaluation methodologies are linked to curriculum design and competency-based learning. The Evaluation Task Force collaborates with other COMSEP and APPD task forces on issues of student evaluation.

The ETF recently completed defining the minimal acceptable level of skills needed for students to demonstrate competency. The document corresponds to the COMSEP Curriculum and may be used for developing clerkship experiences and evaluations such as OSCEs (Objective Structured Clinical Examination). The link to the document may found here.

Evaluation Task Force Leaders

Lisa Martin MD, MPH (2011 - 2014)
Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
8990 Enclave Drive
Maywood, IL 60153
Fax: (630) 654-9851

Gwenevere McIntosh MD (2010 - 2015)
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Director, Curriculum, SOM and Public Health
Department of Pediatrics 4287D HSLC
750 Highland Avenue
Madison, WI 53792-4108
Phone: (608) 263-0483
Fax: (608) 262-2327